Skip to main content
Clearwater, Florida

DUI Defense Lawyers

st petersburg florida car accident lawyers- fletcher and fletcher

Driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, including prescription medications, can lead to a DUI arrest in Florida. As a result, you could face serious legal consequences.

Our Clearwater DUI defense lawyers at Fletcher & Fletcher have dedicated their lives to defending the rights and freedoms of our clients. We’re here to help you tell your side of the story.

“Mr. Fletcher is very knowledgeable in his field, and he provides one on one communication. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is seeking the best representation for the legal matters.”

~ Tracey S.

DUI Defense in Clearwater, Florida

Florida law takes DUIs very seriously. It is possible to receive a jail sentence of up to six months even for a first offense, and repeat offenders face even stiffer penalties.

Our Clearwater defense attorneys have successfully negotiated numerous DUI reductions to reckless driving charges over the course of our careers and will ensure you only go to trial if it is absolutely necessary (or if you want to go to trial).

Our attorneys have decades of combined experience with acquittals for their clients in the courtroom, and will stop at nothing to fight for your freedom if a trial is necessary.

Florida Penalties for DUI Cases

Florida law enforcement and agencies prioritize traffic safety, and the penalties reflect that priority.

The penalties vary depending on the circumstances of your arrest, as well as your prior DUI convictions.

1. First-Offense DUI in Florida

  • Fine between $500–$1,000. (However, if your blood alcohol level was .15% or higher or you had a minor in the vehicle, the fine will be much higher.)
  • Mandatory 50 hrs of community service.
  • Sentencing of your jail time is at the court’s discretion but will not be more than 6 months for a first offense.
  • Your license will be revoked for 180 days up to 1 year.
  • If your BAC was .15% or more, you may be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) for 6 months, which is installed into the dashboard of your vehicle to test for alcohol before you start your car.

2. Second-Offense DUI in Florida

(within 5 years from the previous charge)

  • Mandatory 10 days in jail.
  • 5 year driver’s license revocation.

3. Third-Offense DUI in Florida

(within 10 years)

  • 5 years in prison.
  • Mandatory 10 year driver’s license revocation.

An individual with their fourth or subsequent DUI offense faces a potential felony conviction and up to five years in prison, as well as a permanent revocation of their drivers license.

Whether or not you have a prior criminal record, DUIs involving serious bodily injury or even death can trigger mandatory minimum prison sentences and enhanced sentence enhancements.

st petersburg florida dui lawyers- fletcher and fletcher

Implied Consent in Florida

Under the implied consent law in Florida, a first-time refusal to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test results in a 1-year driver’s license revocation. After 90 days of this revocation period, individuals can apply for a hardship license.

Call NOW or Click to schedule a free consultation

Fletcher & Fletcher Clearwater DUI Defense Lawyers Are Here For You

In addition to listening to your side of the story after your arrest, our DUI defense attorneys at Fletcher & Fletcher will help you build a defense that presents all the facts that are favorable to you. For a free consultation on your case, call today to get in touch with a DUI lawyer who will fight for you.

Send us a message

    Skip to content