Skip to main content
Clearwater, Florida

Battery Defense Lawyers

St Petersburg florida assault and battery lawyers - Fletcher & Fletcher

In addition to punching or hitting another person, battery charges in Florida also includes any kind of intentional, harmful physical contact without consent. It can result in fines and even jail time.

Our criminal defense attorneys at Fletcher & Fletcher are highly-trained to defend you against these consequences, and will help you fight to have your charges reduced or even dropped altogether.

“Mr. Fletcher is very knowledgeable in his field, and he provides one on one communication . I would highly recommend him to anyone who is seeking the best representation for the legal matters.”

~ Tracey S.

Definition of Battery in Florida

According to Florida law, a person is a victim of battery if they have been touched or struck without their consent, or who has been caused bodily harm.

So what’s the difference between battery and assault? An assault includes making a threat to harm another person, as well as the fact that a charge of battery requires physical contact to occur.

Battery Charges in Clearwater, Florida

A battery offense in Florida can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances.

It is a first-degree misdemeanor to commit simple battery. However, the severity of the charge increases if there is substantial harm done to the victim.

For an offense to be considered “aggravated,” the offender must have used a deadly weapon, caused serious bodily harm, or demonstrated intent to commit a felony.

Battery charges can also be elevated to felony status if committed against one of the following protected classes:

  • Healthcare workers
  • Police
  • Emergency responders
  • School teachers
  • Corrections officers
  • Pregnant people
  • Family and members of household, under domestic violence laws

Battery Charge Penalties in Florida

St Petersburg florida assault and battery lawyers - Fletcher & Fletcher

A charge of simple battery is a first-degree misdemeanor, and it can come with the following penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • 12 months probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Felony battery charges can come with the following penalties:

  • 5 to 30 years in jail
  • $5,000 to $15,000 in fines

It’s important to note that it is not uncommon for Florida prosecutors to seek jail sentences even for first-time simple battery offenders.

Fletcher & Fletcher Battery Defense Lawyers Are Here to Help

Our experienced criminal defense attorneys can help you understand your charges and defend yourself against them, which is imperative if you want to avoid jail time and crippling fines.

At Fletcher & Fletcher, we represent people charged with misdemeanor and felony battery charges in Clearwater and throughout Florida. We will protect your rights and fight for your freedom, keeping you informed and a part of the decision-making process every step of the way.

st petersburg florida attorneys - fletcher and fletcher

Call NOW or Click to schedule a free consultation

Contact a Clearwater Defense Lawyer Today

Fletcher & Fletcher defends those charged with crimes in Florida, including battery and assault cases. We are ready to begin working with you on your case. Contact us today to find out how we can help.

Send us a message

    Skip to content