Skip to main content
St. Petersburg, Florida

Battery Defense Lawyers

St Petersburg florida assault and battery lawyers - Fletcher & Fletcher

The smallest of physical conflicts can result in battery charges, which come with stiff penalties in the state of Florida.

Battery includes such acts as punching or hitting another person, as well as any kind of intentional, harmful physical contact without the other person’s consent. It can result in fines and even jail time, even if the altercation was brief.

Criminal defense attorneys like those at Fletcher & Fletcher are trained to defend you against these consequences. A strong defense is your best resource to reduce your charges, or even have them dropped.

“Mr. Fletcher is very knowledgeable in his field, and he provides one on one communication . I would highly recommend him to anyone who is seeking the best representation for the legal matters.”

~ Tracey S.

What Counts as Battery in Florida?

Florida Statute § 784.03 defines battery as actual and intentional touching or striking another person against their consent, or as intentionally causing bodily harm to another person.

This differs from assault in that assault includes making a threat to cause violence or to harm another person, with the ability to do so. A charge of battery requires physical contact.

Battery Charges in Florida

In Florida, battery can be considered either as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances of the offense.

Simple battery is a first-degree misdemeanor. However, the severity of the charge increases if there is a high level of harm done to the victim.

Also, aggravated battery is a felony. For the offense to be considered “aggravated,” the offender could have used a deadly weapon, or intends to and causes serious bodily harm, or would have demonstrated an intent to commit a felony.

Finally, the battery charge can also be elevated to a felony if committed against certain protected classes. Here are some examples of these classes:

  • Healthcare workers
  • Police
  • Emergency responders
  • School teachers
  • Corrections officers
  • Pregnant people
  • Family and members of household, under domestic violence laws

The distinction between simple battery and felony battery isn’t always clear, and their respective penalties can be severe.

Penalties for Battery in Florida

St Petersburg florida assault and battery lawyers - Fletcher & Fletcher

A charge of simple battery is a first-degree misdemeanor, and it can come with the following penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • 12 months probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Felony battery charges can come with the following penalties:

  • 5 to 30 years in jail
  • $5,000 to $15,000 in fines

In Florida, it is not unusual for prosecutors to seek jail sentences even for first-time simple battery offenders.

How Fletcher & Fletcher Can Help With Your Battery Case

To avoid jail time and crippling fines, it is imperative to reach out to a qualified attorney, who can help you understand your charges and defend yourself against them.

The team at Fletcher & Fletcher is equipped to work with people charged with misdemeanor and felony battery, in St. Petersburg and throughout Florida. We will work on your behalf to protect your rights in court and win the best deal for yourself and your community.

st petersburg florida attorneys - fletcher and fletcher

Call NOW or Click to schedule a free consultation

“Fletcher & Fletcher is a great firm that will always fight for what’s best for their clients. In my experience with Rick, he was able to successfully close my case and exceeded my expectations.”

We have dedicated our careers to defending those accused of crimes in Florida, including cases of all kinds, such as battery and assault. We’re ready to get started on yours.

Contact our firm today to get started working with us on your case..

Send us a message

    Skip to content