Skip to main content

Florida law enforcement is cracking down more than ever on driving under the influence. It can be scary to face a DUI charge, especially with life-altering penalties ranging from license suspension to jail time.

Experienced DUI defense lawyers like our team at Fletcher & Fletcher in St. Petersburg, can help you understand your options and help you make informed decisions. Learn what impact it can make when you have a criminal defense attorney with DUI defense experience in St. Petersburg, Florida.

What happens when you get a DUI in Florida?

It all starts when you see those blue lights flashing behind you. In order for a law enforcement officer to pull you over, they must have something called probable cause.

In stops that lead to DUI arrests, a probable cause is usually weaving between lanes, not using a turn signal, driving over the speed limit, or some other traffic violation.

After an officer pulls you over is when they may check you for a possible DUI arrest. They may conduct several different tests, even a breathalyzer test, to check if you are under the influence.

If you are found to have substances in your system, then you may be arrested for a DUI, in which case your license will immediately be suspended, at least for a period of time.

Penalties for a DUI charge in Florida

In addition to a potential license suspension, there are other penalties you might face in the case of a DUI arrest.

These vary based on the number of times you have been charged for a DUI, and are as follows:

  • First offense: Fine between $500–$1,000, mandatory 50 hrs of community service, sentencing of your jail time at the court’s discretion for up to 6 months, license revocation for 180 days or up to a year, requirement to use ignition interlock device (IID) to test for alcohol before a car starts if your BAC was .15% or more.
  • Second offense (within five years of previous charge): Mandatory 10 days in jail, 5 year driver’s license revocation
  • Third offense (within 10 years): 5 years in prison, mandatory 10 year driver’s license revocation

As you can see, a DUI charge can drastically impact a person’s everyday life, and penalties only grow as a person’s DUI charge count does.

How can a DUI defense lawyer help me after I am arrested?

However, if you have been arrested after a DUI, you don’t need to worry. You still have options, especially with the help of a DUI defense attorney who is willing to go to bat for you.

For example, our process at Fletcher & Fletcher is in St. Petersburg, FL is to look past the State’s narrative and listen to your story.

Historically, we have successfully negotiated numerous reductions of DUI to a charge of reckless driving. We are here to fight for you the way we would want people to fight for us.

We do this by guiding you through the defense process, making sure you have all the information about your rights and can make informed decisions about your case and your future.

What will happen to me if I don’t have a DUI lawyer?

If you waive your right to a lawyer, you lose out on the skill of someone who understands legal jargon and processes. DUI lawyers can help negotiate deals, represent you in court proceedings, and even appeal convictions. Without a strong, determined DUI lawyer you miss out on this crucial support.

Contact Fletcher & Fletcher St. Petersburg DUI Defense Attorneys

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you don’t need to face the charges alone. Fletcher & Fletcher is an experienced criminal defense firm with a track record of success in DUI defense cases. Let us walk with you every step of the way with a listening ear and supportive defense.

It all starts with your free initial consultation. Contact us to schedule yours today.

Skip to content